Leave a comment

The coolest thing yet!

Hey everyone!

Holy cow, so much has happened in the past week! Umm, I don’t even know where to start! K I’ll start with the best thing. So on Wednesday, we were teaching one of our investigators, and I wanted to try and go into this lesson without any notes, because it just brings the Spirit into the lessons so much more, and allows the Spirit to guide the lesson. We taught lesson 3, and it started out like a normal lesson, and then I remembered something I read in Preach My Gospel about listening to the investigator, and trying to discern their needs, and if you focus on them, and not what you are going to say next, then the Spirit will put into your head what to say in the moment you need to say it. And it happened, it was the coolest thing in the world!!! The gift of tongues is real, it is SO real! I just started talking, I didn’t plan out what I was going to say, I just talked. For about 5 minutes I just talked. My companion had no idea what I was saying, half the time I didn’t even know what I was saying. But I could tell that our investigator knew (hopefully) what I was saying. It was the coolest gift-of-tongues experience yet!

And on Tuesday, at the devotional, I was on the big screen! Everyone said that I was like right in the middle, I told you that they couldn’t keep this face off camera, haha!

All of the older Mandarin missionaries leave tomorrow, so we will the oldest ones for 4 weeks!! That means that we have to talk in Sacrament meeting………. And they pick who talks as they say it over the pulpit, so you have no warning if you are going to talk or not. So something that I have found, especially in the past week, is just how important the Spirit really is. It is like an addiction, because life here sucks without it. I don’t know what I would do without that constant companionship. I honestly do everything that I can do to have it with me, because it is easily the best part about being a missionary. Having so many little and big spiritual experiences throughout the day, really boosts me keep on focusing and doing what i need to do.

We have 2 investigators, Zhang and Becky. They are our 2 teachers that ‘pretend’ to be investigators. Zhang is the one that I had the really cool experience with. Becky is not going so well, and it is actually pretty frustrating because we are doing everything that we should be doing, we’re doing everything PMG says to do, and she just doesn’t seem interested. So we just said, that we know that if she puts in the effort and wants it, then she can feel the Spirit and know that what we have told her is true. We have done all we can do, its just up to her now. I’m sure that there is going to be a lot of that in Taiwan….. Speaking of Taiwan, one of our teachers, Sister Winters, said that the people in Taipei love McDonalds! That honestly MADE MY DAY hearing that! Haha, and she said that President Day is the coolest and most chill mission president ever, I’m so excited to get out there! I’m honestly at the ‘get me out of here already’ stage. Which isn’t good, cause I still have a month left…. anyways, I’ll talk to you all next week! Wo ai nimen!!!!

Elder Mansell

Elder Mansell & Elder WilsonThe District Elder Mansell & Elder Wilson

Leave a Reply

