Leave a comment

God is REAL!

November 17, 2013

Hey everyone!

So this week was super crazy, it went by super fast but it was also super slow. I don’t know, time is impossible to describe out here. But if there is one thing I have learned this week, it’s that GOD IS REAL!! and he answers prayers. I was praying like crazy this week cause of some stuff that happened with our investigators. But He really does hear and answer every single prayer. When I first got out here, prayer wasn’t what it is now. It was just something you do right before studies and with your companion a couple times throughout the day and at night. I never asked Him to help me with the trials I had. I could have gotten so much more help by just asking for it! But now, prayer is just a natural thing, and whenever I am struggling throughout the day, just say a prayer. And every single time, within 5 minutes I was doing better. It works.

 

This week I started phase 2 which is just 2000 vocab words on cards. I started learning about 30 words a day the first 2 days, which was pretty good. With phase 1 I was getting a little less than that, so it was increasing. But then my companion told me, “If you don’t stretch yourself, you will never know your limits.” Then the next day, I took 100 cards out of the box and went to work. I’ve been getting 100 words a day for almost the past week!!!!!!! BOOO YAA!! My Chinese has gone through the roof this week!! There is no possible way a deaf 18 year old kid could learn that much Chinese a day. It’s just not possible. But I kinda have a little advantage- the Lord is on my side baby!! Just praying my guts out for the Gift of Tongues, and lo and behold, it worked! I could probably pass off phase 2 in the next 3 weeks. My goal is to have it done by the end of my 3rd transfer. But I did have a humbling experience this week… we were visiting Shi dx and I asked him a pretty complex question and didn’t translate the grammar right. It was close so I thought he got it. Then he turned to my companion and said, “What did he say?” I was just thinking, “Whoa, hey there buddy I just passed off phase 1. Like who do you think you’re talking to?” Hahaha funny stuff.

 

So in English class last week there was a little kid there with his dad. We were just teaching and all of a sudden this kid, he’s about 3, said that he had to go pee. So his dad whips out a water bottle and right in the middle of class just starts peeing in a bottle! Come on Taiwan…. But the food, nothing compares to the food, they make up for it in that category. We were eating dinner with a member family and they brought out this orange chicken. Oh. My. Gosh. Best thing I have ever had, panda express doesn’t even COMPARE! Not even CLOSE!! Such good food….

 

So transfer meeting is this week, and I might be leaving Qinban. Yesterday at church I realized that I had been to that church 12 times. It felt like 2, the time just went by sooo fast. I can’t even believe it. I have really grown to love this ward with all of my heart, they are some of the greatest people on the planet. I really don’t want to leave, but I’ll go where He wants me to go. Well that’s about for this week. Love you all!!!

 

Elder Mansell

照片 010(1)

Leave a Reply

