Leave a comment

Have a some more rice…

March 23, 2014
Last week was pretty good, our miracle investigator Chen dx is progressing really well. Taught him some commandments, and I taught the Law of Chastity for the first time ever…. that was… fun. Haha he doesn’t have any problems with it,  it’s funny, he thinks all of our commandments are really weird, and doesn’t know why we have them, but he still keeps them anyways. His faith is amazing. Hahaha after the lesson, we went to lunch with him and he looked at the meny and was like, “anything we can’t eat on here?” He is the one reason why I don’t want to leave this week. Transfers are on Friday, training calls already came, and I thought one of us was going to train…. but no. There are a lot of Elders coming in next transfer though. I honestly have no clue whats going to happen. I talked to President last night, well at first I called Sister Day to ask how long you have to boil the boiled eggs for (its 10 minutes) But I had to talk to President anyways and then he asked me how my rash was doing, and we were talking trying to find a reason for it, and I think it might be the water coming into our apartment has something in it that I’m allergic to. Cause that’s the only thing that has changed, so I’m pretty sure I’m going to move.
So there is a part about Chinese culture that is really interesting, and frankly sometimes a liiiiiiiiiittle annoying. No matter how much food you eat, or HOW many times you say that you’re full, they shove more food on your plate. Either I’m saying the wrong tones (which, uh, I’m not) or they just have a ton of extra food and don’t know what to do with it, so they give it to the white guys. Its just really hard to keep up my 6 pack with all this dang RICE  😉
Haha last week when the ward was singing happy birthday to my companion, they sang it in Chinese first, and normally they always sing it in Taiwanese next, but they started singing in something that definately wasn’t Taiwanese…. I had no clue what they were saying, and then by the end, I figured out that they were singing in English… Awkward…
Right now I am studying the Old Testament, and for the life of me, I cannot figure out why there are some of those stories in it. It’s like the goriest, most R rated book ever!!! There have been members that leave the Church cause of how gross some of those stories are. I’m in 1 Kings, and have YET to read anything that would really benefit me or my investigators. But its really fun to picture some of the war stories in there. Keeps me entertained.
That’s about it for this week, I think I will stay in Taibei cause I’m the music person, so I probably won’t move very far. We’ll see. Love you all!!!
Elder Mansell
Leave a Reply

