Leave a comment

Heating up!

April 5, 2015

It is heating up over here in Taiwan!! Summer hit fast. 1 week and its up to over 30 degrees Celsius and probably 120% humidity at the least. Its like getting hit in the face with a water balloon right as you walk out the door. But it is honestly one of my favorite things about Taiwan.

So we had a few funny things happen last week. It was Easter so that was pretty cool.  Well I wouldn’t have known it was Easter here cause not a single person knew it was Easter.  Nobody talked about it in church, and everyone we talked to on the streets about it thought it was sometime in either November (Thanksgiving) or December (Christmas) …. gotta love non christian countries!!! And the translation for Easter into Chinese is super funny, it translates into “Resurrection Day” and the first time I heard someone say that in Chinese I was thinking,”They have a holiday for that???” Then I realized it was Easter….

But the best part of the week was definitely April Fools Day. We did 2 things that were just dang funny, it was district meeting that day and my District Leader is going home this week, it was his last one so to celebrate we bought the whole district drinks, but the twist was that we found laxative pills (don’t ask me how we found them..) and crushed 2 of them up and put it in his drink. It took everything I had not to just start busting up laughing the whole district meeting, especially when he said,”Alright, why does my drink taste like hairspray? Who put crap in my drink??” I don’t know how I managed to keep a straight face. But he stopped drinking it before he had too much and didn’t have any of the effects from the pills.. so we didn’t succeed but it was still a dang good story.

We also met with 2 old ladies from Mainland China last week.  They are here for a couple of months to take care of their parents. I would tell you about them, but when they were introducing themselves I literally couldn’t understand a bloody thing they were saying!! They could understand my Chinese but I could hardly understand anything they were saying.  The accent was just so thick it would rival the air in Taipei, but we managed to get through the first lesson, don’t ask me how they took it, cause I got no clue.

I have officially gotten sick of Chinese food. My body is literally rejecting any rice that I eat.  I can hardly eat anything anymore because I just get super sick to my stomach after I eat. It’s not as bad when I eat American food, but that stuff is dang expensive here. So I don’t quite know what to do in that case.  We are going to eat Mexican food and dairy queen for lunch today, the only ones in all of Taibei. Gonna feast today!!

I have noticed that enduring to the end of the mission is a LOT harder than I thought it was going to be. Its hitting me like a ton of bricks.  I thought the longer you go, the easier it gets. That is not the case, actually its the opposite. The area is also still not really going anywhere but we did get a good bit of news that Brother Wang will be changing work at the end of the month and he is going to be… wait for it… a Realtor. Who’d have thunk it? So there you go dad! Haha well that about sums it up for the week. Love you all!!

Elder Mansell

 

Leave a Reply

